Design trends for the home

Hey there, I know, I know it’s been a while. Last month was very hectic for me and it looks like it’s running into this month as well. I went for the first time to the largest furniture markets in the U.S. to High Point, North Carolina. It’s the market of all markets for trade professionals that happens twice a year.

This small town is home to many manufacturers of  “american made” furniture company’s. It is made up of multiple clusters of buildings stories tall  full of unique fine furniture, art, accessories, rug, and jewelry dealers for a designer’s to shop through every Spring and Fall.

This is a place where new budding furniture makers or  any one within the home decor market  can come to be in the forefront of designers who are constantly looking to buy/sell to their clients. I happen to come across a reusable wallpaper company that I just loved! ( I am hoping to use it on a project sometime soon) Anyway, the theme this year was High Fashion, but I notice a few trends myself and I just wanted to share them with you.

Color Trends:

Lavender

Lemon Zest

Poppy Red

Peony

Jade

Ink

I was in LOVE with this wall color!

Coppertone

Linen

Accent and Detail Trends:

Bugs

Weird Science

Angelic Infusions

I had such a great time and I would love to spend the whole week really checking out all the off the beaten path places to scope out all the resources! If there was one something I learned early on it was that a designer is only as good as their resources, so it’s important to always be looking around for the latest and greatest.

Cheers!

The Pink Door Designer

Image resources:

http://bluebergitt.wordpress.com/2012/03/

http://www.pantone.com/pages/fcr.aspx?pg=21005&ca=4

Pink Door Designs

Lonny Magazine

Leave a comment